Dog Works Training Centers-Camp Works Dog: Rocky [UPDATE]

Camp Works Dog: "ROCKY"

 

Client’s Name: Tara L.

Dogs Name: “Rocky”

City: Denver, CO

Breed: Border Collie/Black Lab Mix

Likes: teenaged boys, getting to hang out, running/jogging

Pet-Peeves: most other dogs, new situations, don’t get to close to my food

Favorite Toy: Lacrosse balls

Favorite Treat: Puperoni

Favorite Walk: anywhere – take me outside!

Best Trick: I’m still learning how to get along with others and to trust new people; my Camp Counselor “Qyain” says I’m doing great and I’ll make someone a great companion soon.

Arrival Story: I was found living outdoors on the streets by my new friend Tara, she’s a foster mom with a local rescue.  She was told that I am a bad dog who’s not adoptable – my friend Michele Forto, the Camp Director said I am adoptable and she’s helping me learn how to be a good dog.

Bio: I am about 11 months old and I’ve never had a home of my own.  I am at Camp learning manners, basic obedience, socialization and how to play with humans and other dogs.  I hope my handler comes soon.

Motto: “It’s a Hard Knock Life”

Director’s Note: Rocky is up for adoption.  It is recommended that he be adopted to a person between the ages of 18 and 30 preferably single or without small children.  Rocky is a wonderful loving dog who needs a handler who can spend ample time exercising and training him.  He is a smart guy and takes to training easily – due to his past he has poor socialization skills which need to be expanded upon. Rocky would make a great companion for anyone who is outdoors a lot.  He loves jogging and will take to bikjoring easily.  He likes hiking and exploring and if you’re the right person – he’d love to try flyball!

Departure Story: Rocky showed off his skills and Camp Director Michele made sure his temporary owner knows how to handle him.  Rocky is a great dog who has been through a lot in his young life.  He needs a handler who can remain calm and assertive and who will understand the difference between fear responses and full on aggression.  In Michele’s opinion Rocky is not aggressive.  Rocky has been mistreated and needs the opportunity to build trust with people – once he trusts you he then tries to steal your affection.

Hopefully Rocky will find a forever home soon.  Camp Director Michele would like that person to contact her for further handling training of Rocky.

Michele FortoRobert FortoTeam InekaAlaska Dog WorksMushing RadioDog Works RadioDenver Dog WorksDaily Post

___________________

Michele Forto is the lead trainer at Denver Dog Works and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows

Leave a Reply

