Puppy Wish List

Puppy Wish List

By Michele Forto

Recently I interviewed a client who is picking up their new puppy in two weeks.  She contacted me prior to picking up their puppy to have a training plan in place.  I cannot emphasize the importance of this decision.  I have been posting a series called the Four Critical Periods. In this series it explains the importance of developing, maintaining, and sticking with a structured training plan for your puppy.

I have decided to share portions of her wish list; I receive lists like this regularly and decided it is worthy of sharing.  This way if you’re in the market to get a new puppy or even rescue a young dog, you can relate to this wish list.

1.  He needs to be potty trained.

2.  I want a dog I can take anywhere.  He needs to get along with other dogs and people.

3.  I want a dog who can walk on a loose leash.

4.  I want a dog who isn’t always trying to run away.

5.  I want to be able to call him to us from far away.

6.  The commands I am interested in are sit, down, stay, come, nice

  1. Take the treat without biting my hand off.

Tomorrow: A Trainer’s Perspective for the Puppy Wish List

___________________

Michele Forto is Denvers Dog Training Examiner, a certified canine trainer at Denver Dog Works and the co-host of the Dog Doctor Radio Show

Leave a Reply

